The Clerks work part-time across the week. The Assistant Clerk also works part-time, but fewer hours than the Clerk.

The Council has places for up to fourteen Councillors. Following the May 2023 elections 10 places were filled. Subsequently three Councillors were co-opted. As of December 2023 there is one casual Cllr vacancy. See current list of Councillors, below.


  • Alex Campbell
  • Martin Bloor
  • Bridget Hanley
  • Bill Hanley
  • Tim Hill
  • Jane Marsden (Chair)
  • James Marsden
  • Rosemary Olle
  • Heather Rodgers (Vice Chair)
  • Peter Rowland
  • James Shuttleworth
  • Nick Williams
  • Anne Yule

The Register of Declared Interests can be found on the Derbyshire Dales District Council website here.

For information on the role of a parish councillor please see the following:

LGA Councillors Guide 2019

The Council’s Officers are:

  • Maura Sorensen (Clerk)
  • Kathryne Fraser (Assistant Clerk)
  • Chris Cave (Responsible Finance Officer)
  • Neil Vaughan (Caretaker)
  • Footpaths Officers – changes to personnel in December 2023 with Alan Kydd stepping down after many years in the role – details of Footpaths Officers will be added here in due course

All Officers work part-time.

The Councillors and Officers can be contacted through the Clerk at:
Heart of Hathersage
Main Road
Derbyshire S32 1BB
or email
or phone 07766 629 419.